Modernize, Rationalize, Simplify: The New MCSE.

Clang!” Bring out your dead!” Clang! “But, I’m not dead yet!” Timeless comedy from Monty Python; it never gets old. Certifications, on the other hand, do have a lifetime – they get old and need to be updated, refreshed.

Microsoft have today released the new, streamlined Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) and Developer (MCSD) specialities. The five new credentials “are aligned to Centers of Excellence, used by the Microsoft Partner Network to identify technical competencies that are widely recognizable by both Microsoft partners and customers.”


You still need to pass a Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) first, then choosing an elective, achieve one of the following:

  • MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure – focusing on skills validation for Windows Server and Microsoft Azure
  • MCSE: Mobility – focusing on skills validation for Windows Client and Enterprise Mobility Suite
  • MCSE: Data Management and Analysis – focusing on skills validation for both on-premises and cloud-based Microsoft data products and services
  • MCSE: Productivity – focusing on skills validation for Office 365, SharePoint, Exchange, and Skype for Business
  • MCSD: App Builder – focusing on skills validation for Web and Mobile app development

What about my old MCSE?? Your current MCP transcripts are being evaluated; those with active MCSE or MCSD certifications from the following list will be converted to the new MCSE or MCSD certifications for 2016 without having to take any additional exams.

  • MCSE: Server Infrastructure
  • MCSE: Private Cloud
  • MCSE: Data Platform
  • MCSE: Business Intelligence
  • MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps
  • MCSE: SharePoint
  • MCSE: Communication
  • MCSE: Messaging
  • MCSD: Universal Windows Platform
  • MCSD: Web Applications
  • MCSD: SharePoint Applications

“In addition, all individuals who have passed a qualifying elective exam since January 1, 2016 will be granted the corresponding new MCSE or MCSD certifications for 2016 without the need to take additional exams, if they have met all exam requirements.”

The cadence of change, in operating systems, in applications, has to be reflected in certifications. We need to stay current, to stay relevant. The rationalization of the MCSE/MCSD into these five specialities, and the ongoing renewing of those certifications is a great step in keeping up with those dynamic changes.

There is a lot more information being released, now and over the next few weeks. A good friend of mine, Larry Kaye, has written an in depth blog post covering more details. Go to Microsoft’s “Born To Learn” and read through it carefully.




Filed under Certification

2 responses to “Modernize, Rationalize, Simplify: The New MCSE.

  1. sushant

    Can i do elective exam first and then MCSA? and then achieve MCSE certification?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s